fiction · lifestyle · Tales of Christine

Tales of Christine (TOC) 1

image

Christine called me to tell me that she was close to where I was, but the traffic has been crazy. An articulated vehicle broke down at the Egbeda junction.
.
I took a bite of the Chicken Pie I had bought while waiting for her at Tantalizers, Iyana-Ipaja. The TV channel was airing the Big Brother Naija. “This world has come to an end.” I blurted, a young couple sitting at a corner opposite me chuckled. “What is wrong with these ones?” I thought within myself, ignoring them.
.
I was in my reverie when Christine tapped me on my shoulder and apologised frantically. I have been at the eatery for 30 minutes. She was adorned in a white dress and a red turban with an exquisite brooch. Christine has always been obsessed with the Red colour since we were in school. She always put a touch of red in her attires. She wore silver stilettos matching her silver clutch.
.
I gulped the remainder of the fruit juice I bought along with my Chicken pie. We stepped out of the eatery to the parking lot, my eyes panning the area, trying to fathom the car Christine came in. She pressed a button on her car key to disengage the security installation on the vehicle. It was a red 2015 Hyundai Tucson SUV. I smiled and said, “Christine, you and your love for Red.”
.
When we were in school, Christine was sent out of class by a lecturer who found Christine’s all red attire distasteful. Later, we got to know that Mr. Oluwalogbon had a phobia for red colour and believed that the colour is associated with danger and bad luck.
.
As we opened the doors to enter, I reminded her of the incident and we both giggled at the thought of the reaction of the man. We got on the road. Christine had invited me to accompany her to a boat cruise at Lekki. Christine and I met at a mall early in the year after losing contacts for years and we have been in seldom conversations since then. She lives at Ikotun.
.
Few minutes into our ride, I observed Christine’s wedding band on her finger. “You miss him greatly.” I said quietly. Christine has this annoying habit of pretending not to hear you when she is asked personal questions. She drove for about 10 minutes before she said, “He is a good man.” I decided not to talk further, trying not to pluck the strings of emotions.
.
Christine got married after our National Diploma. Her late husband was a staff of the Federal Inland Revenue Service. He died in an auto crash on his way to a conference in Abuja two years ago. They had two kids. The kids had gone to her mother-in-law’s place for the weekend, so she had no worries leaving home for the Boat cruise.
.
Christine was just 22 years old when she got married, her husband being 27 years. She continued her studies after her wedding with the support of her husband and graduated as a Quantity Surveyor. She works with a top consulting firm on Lagos Island.
.
Christine was driving so fast and with finesse. She was really in sync with the car and I could feel it that the car understands her driving language. She manoeuvred really well in Lagos traffic; being a Saturday.
.
To be continued…
.
TALES OF CHRISTINE is a fiction series by Kayode Gideon Balogun published on Fridays at http://www.kayodebalogun.wordpress.com

image

Leave a Reply

